Welcome Guest | Register | Login

It's that time of the year again - Daylight Savings Time. Sure, we lose an hour of sleep, but our days become an hour longer. Hurray for daylight past 7:00 P.M.!

Spring forward and set those clocks ahead one hour before you crash tonight. Or, if you're a night owl, just make sure to do the deed when you get in the door from your favorite bar tonight. Daylight Savings Time (DST) begins at 2 a.m. Sunday, March 13. 

Just when did Daylight Savings Time originate? Benjamin Franklin is credited with the concept. He conceived of the Daylight Savings Time concept during his sojourn as an American delegate in Paris in 1784, in an essay, "An Economical Project." Daylight Savings Time (DST) has been used in most parts of the United States since World War I.

Now, you may be asking yourself "What States don't observe Daylight Savings Time?" Just two states don't observe DST and that's Arizona and Hawaii.

In 2007, President Bush enacted a new energy policy bill, which extended DST by four weeks. Prior to this, DST began on the first Sunday of April.

Contact The People's Blogger at peoplesblogger@yahoo.com