Welcome Guest | Register | Login

Philadelphia Sports Writers Association Dinner featuring Roy Halladay is a "Can't Miss" Event


The Philadelphia Sports Writers Association will celebrate its 107th Sports Awards Dinner on Monday, January 31st, 2011 at the Crowne Point Plaza Hotel in Cherry Hill.

The event is best known for its outstanding panel of attendees and guest speakers from the Philadelphia area and beyond. And this year is clearly no exception.

In what has become a recurring theme the last several years, the Philadelphia Phillies will be well represented at the sports banquet. 2010 Cy Young Award Winner Roy Halladay will be in attendance to receive the 'Pro Athlete of the Year Award,' and fellow Phillie Shane Victorino will receive the 'Humanitarian of the Year Award.' Phillies’ skipper Charlie Manuel and GM Ruben Amaro  are also scheduled to attend as well as comedian Joe Conklin.

Despite Halladay starting his training in Florida for the upcoming baseball season, writer Rich Westcott, this year’s President of the PSWA, said Halladay never hesitated in regards to coming to the dinner.

“Even though he was already working out in Clearwater, Roy very generously agreed to come to our banquet,” says Westcott, a member of PSWA since the early 1980’s and long considered to be the ultimate Phillies historian.

“We are thrilled that he's going to be there to receive our Pro Athlete of the Year Award. He was a runaway selection. Nobody else was even close. In addition, the Phillies will be showing a video of his perfect game at their exhibit table before the banquet.”

In fact, all four major Philadelphia sports teams will be represented at the dinner. Ian Laperriere will be on hand to accept the 'Team of the Year Award' for the 2009-2010 Flyers, and former Eagle Bill Bergey will receive the Living Legend Award. Elton Brand of the Sixers will also attend.

Steve Addazio, Temple's new football coach, will be introduced at the banquet. MLS standout Roy Halladay photo: www.gather.comBobby Convey of the San Jose Earthquakes and a former Penn Charter star, will receive the Native Son Award.

Although the PSWA Award’s Dinner delivers A-list athletes from the Philadelphia area and beyond year after year, Westcott admits this is anything but an easy task.

“Having all the pro and college teams off on the same night is a virtual impossibility. It just never happens. So, we have to go with what we can. Sometimes, this does affect who gets a particular award. We have committees for each award. They study the candidates very thoroughly before making their selections. After a committee picks an award winner, the choice is then presented to our Board of Governors for final approval.”

Although there are still tickets available, they are going fast. And Westcott insists that the guests from the Philly sports teams as well as local college coaches and athletes will make this dinner one to remember for a long time.

“This will be our 107th annual banquet, which makes it the oldest of its kind in the country. Herb Magee, Fran Dunphy, Al Bagnoli, Sheila Reid, and many others getting awards, this shapes up as one of our best head tables in years.”

107th Annual Sports Writers Association Awards Dinner at Crowne Plaza Hotel

Route 70 in Cherry Hill, N.J.

Monday, January 31 · 6:30pm - 9:30pm

To purchase tickets, go to www.pswa.org or email pswadinner@yahoo.com or you can call 609-702-7473.

You can also send a check payable to PSWA to Robbie Kenney/Ticket Chairman,PSWA,110 Harrowgate Drive, Lumberton, NJ, 08048  

Follow them on Twitter @pswadinner

Hallday photo: www.gather.com